Emily Fowler Central Library

Library Type

The Emily Fowler Central Library was first opened in 1949. The Denton Public Library system later added two branch locations: the North Branch Library and the South Branch Library. The Fowler library is situated in downtown Denton, Texas, serving a diverse mix of families, college students, school-age children, and adults. With a population approaching 140,000, Denton is home to two universities: the University of North Texas (UNT) and Texas Woman's University (TWU). Before temporarily closing for concerns related to COVID-19, all three library locations hosted weekly storytimes, toddler times, and other programs for preschool and school-age children.